88 Comments
author

I really feel like instead of Daylight Savings, we should all just be granted shorter work days in the winter. The fact that we aren't given more time to sleep and get fat and cozy during months when that's pretty much all our bodies want to do just seems cruel.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022Liked by Ijeoma Oluo

We are spending a small inheritance on a hot tub...I know this is gross and bougie but also we live somewhere much further north, rainier, and darker than Seattle...and so this is how we are spending a few thousand dollars that came our way. I believe in hot tub therapy, and I believe the family member who left this money to us would have approved :)

Expand full comment

I prepare. An indigenous friend shared that in her culture the autumn is when you decide what you want to learn in winter. So, I use the darkening time think about what I want to spend my winter reading, learning about, going deeper on. I cook cozy food and put up twinkly lights. Grounding foods and vitamin D helps. 💕

Expand full comment

Using a SAD light to do puzzles, getting out in the sunshine when it's out and making hearty soups and stews. Candlelit baths too.

It's a hard time of year for sure.

Expand full comment

OK don’t hate me but Massachusetts is cute right now. It’s cold and crisp (Except for this weekend where it randomly was 80°, but we’re back to kind of normal 50s-60s during the day 40s at night now) and we just had those gorgeous orange and red leaves and the sun is out almost every single day. After almost 7 years in Seattle, I don’t miss the big dark even though there was aspects of it I liked – I just notice since moving how much better my mood is when no matter what’s happening, it’s sunny most of the time. I’m also in a college town that’s really walkable so I actually walk to the post office, to get my haircut, get a cup of coffee etc. and I really like that part. There’s gonna be cute winter activities and snow but with sunshine in the near future? I have a small mostly disabled/chronically ill Covid pod and we’ve got protocols for testing and then hanging out inside with the air purifiers going so I think it’s gonna be less fucked up and harder than the last two winters. I hope so anyway.

Expand full comment

at this point, i'm just grateful for rain and no more smoke.

I appreciate pulling out my sweaters and turning the heat on.

it'll get to me more in January and February.

Expand full comment

I hear ya! I live not far from you in the Eastside suburbs of Seattle. One thing that I radically shifted starting last year is working part of my daily caseload (mental health counselor in private practice) doing sessions OUTSIDE, year-round, come rain, snow or sun, regardless of the temperature. The only times I canceled and moved things inside to 100% teletherapy was on the very worst smoke days last month. I use a converted carport as an outdoor living/work space, provide blankies, hot tea, a fire table and heat lamps. It’s a cozy, yet refreshing way to get reinvigorating fresh air, full-spectrum light, and mix up the hunkered down vortex of schlepiness that would creep in over the winter months cooped up 100% inside everyday. So, I’m not. I also added 3 outdoor cats that have an adjoining glamping kitty palace-shed-greenhouse who come join the therapy sessions as lap warmers. My clients looooove it. Reinventing ‘what’s possible’. Yaaaas. ….on a different note, I also balance this with ordering online $100 of sweet-tooth hibernating snacks last night to accompany my non-client tea-time. ;)

Expand full comment

SAD light first thing in the morning, and burning the fancy candles I like while I work. My winter plan last year was “walk no matter what”, and it really did help, even if the day was gray or freezing and I just went around the block.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2022·edited Nov 9, 2022Liked by Ijeoma Oluo

I'm tackling a long to-do list of indoor home improvement things. Just bought my first home here in Seattle, so this should keep me busy through the winter. In previous years, I geared up to keep my walking habit going in all kinds of weather (still plan to do that), just to get out of the house and make myself engage with/accept the season. I'm also queuing up a bunch of recipes for soups, stews, and casseroles to go with my sweaters and blankets.

Expand full comment

We just moved to Seattle from Oakland three weeks ago and am so glad to be a home owner and build some intergenerational wealth, which California would never avail. I grew up in nyc and remember going home from school in the dark at 4pm. I also lived in Paris for seven years where it was hella cold and dark. I’ll take it. Not moving to a red state for warmth and sun either. Bought a SAD lamp

Expand full comment

1) Himalayan Rock Salt lamp. 2) The daily reminder that there is a city that is far too sunny year-round where the weather never changes and where I am so grateful I do not live, and as hard as a New York winter is, I really dislike that place so much more than I dislike the dark cold of my home. 3) I remind myself that where I live the earliest the sun will ever set is 4:28 PM and that brings me comfort, knowing that as of today it's less than a month and a half before the days start getting longer. 4) Reminding myself that the leaves die, but the trees are simply resting. 5) I like the mindfulness app, too. 6) And the I Ching reminder that the light element is actually building during the darker time of the year. 7) A yoga teacher once talked about autumn as a creative time we go within, that there's witchy wonder within. And 8) lots of tea. Hang in there.

Expand full comment

The transition from light to dark is shocking some years. Filling my home with scents of the season, candle flames, twinkle lights, music in the the evenings and cooking brings my home alive. Spending more time with friends and family, even volunteering helps get me out in the daytime. I recently posted on social media when I was planning on walking the local trail and invited people to come out and join me. Sometimes it is because we would rather walk with someone than alone.

And reading. You are always someplace different when you are reading an interesting article or book and for me having my dogs next to me, all the better.

Expand full comment

I’m a PNW native but this year, maybe because of the long summer, it seems especially dark and depressing. I do all the things to feel good, including aromatherapy, special lights, and a sleep schedule.

Expand full comment

After 12 years of living in Maine which gets very dark this time of year -- after 30 years living and growing up in Hong Kong, which is sun tropical and stays light consistently, I now approach this time of year a bit like that Scandinavian hygge thing -- which is to say, essentially it’s about making things inside the home very cozy, good candles, cozy clothes, up the cooking of soups, and more importantly, to view using the darkness to increase my writing and creative practice. Now it’s quite awesome when the light changes ... until about April when I start slightly losing my mind from it still being freezing

Expand full comment

I find watching the salmon runs helps when it’s cold and boring out here. It’s been giving me life watching them come in droves knowing it will help the orcas and especially since we’ve had such a dry hot summer. Some magic in the dark so to speak.

Expand full comment

Ugh I hate this time. I’m Danish (live in CO) so unfortunately I’m way too used to this weather, but it means it’s time for candles, candles and more candles. I go for a walk as soon as the sun is out and I read more books.

Expand full comment

I have always dreaded the short days and even experienced severe depression during the winter but this late summer I planted some perennials—I have never gardened—and because I was worried about them surviving the winter I went to the local garden store and asked what fertilizer I should put on them—the kind and friendly expert behind the counter told me, “you don’t want to give them anything that’s gonna push them to flower or grow, this is the time for them to work on their roots.”

She sold me some worm castings and told me I could make “tea” with them for my plants and the bag should last me all winter. I pretended I understood and then promptly googled worm castings tea lol. But I’ve really found so much comfort in the idea that this is not the season to try to flower, it’s the season to rest and work on my roots.

Expand full comment

Got myself a fitbit and am using it as a task master to make myself walk every hour. Making a lot of hearty soups. Rewarding myself with a single bit of candy when I meet a writing goal. Indulging in a massage periodically. When I was a student I used to hit up the free art shows or galleries periodically, because they tickled my brain in good and new ways.

Expand full comment

I just bought a therapy light. I hope it helps

Expand full comment

Already put up some holiday stuff, mainly twinkle lights, to bring warmth and coziness. And picking up banh mi’s for dinner often! Rise & Shine bakery on the Shoreline/Edmonds border is a fav!

Expand full comment

It has been unseasonably warm and extra humid in SC these past several days. But to deal with the increasing dark, I went to the library and checked out a stack of books! I tend to get more reading done when it gets darker earlier, so I’m all set for now.

Expand full comment

I live in MN. It got dark here at 4:30 today and I got up from my computer and went to pour a glass of wine because I was so sure it was wine time. My dog is very unhappy about this switch from daylight savings time. These weeks are the worst. I always manage to adjust and start to revel in hibernation, but the adjustment is brutal.

Expand full comment

Also feel the same, but in Oregon (but was in Seattle for many years before that). I keep a lot of lights and lamps on, including fairy lights and candles. I use music to elevate my mood and energy. I give myself permission to move/write/have meetings at times of the day that feel best now, which can be very different than my summer “schedule.” I also allow a slower start to my mornings than when it was light at 5 a.m.

Expand full comment

I’m pretty privileged with my work situation, but during the winter since the pandemic I break my work day up and make sure to get outside regardless of weather for at least 45 minutes, sometimes a couple hours, and still have a nice lunch. So I’ll take midday break and then work later. Or early.

Expand full comment

We live in Seattle too. One thing we do as it darkness envelopes us is what we call "State Park Saturday ". We randomly choose a state park and just go. We hike, find local restaurants and shops nearby and make a day of it. Not as many people are outside so it sometimes feels like we have nature to ourselves.

Expand full comment

Cocooning. Knitting. Leaning into my creativity, meditation and relationships that I have built over many years. I always get seasonally depressed in the fall. I always forget that this happens. I go into a massive malaise. And then, like a seed taking root, I remember. And I ask my friends for help- we go for walks and talk. I remind my kids that I am imperfect and still trying to figure it all out. And something’s I scream, and I cry and snuggle my dogs. And lean into my partner. And ask for Grace. This too shall pass.

Expand full comment

I live in central Sweden. The sun rose today at 7:47 AM and it will go down at 3:53 PM. At the absolute nadir of winter, the sun will rise just after 9 AM and set at 3:05 PM. It's grim, is what I am saying. The weekend we lose daylight savings time, which happens one week before the US shifts, is especially hard on me. My SAD lamp is indispensable. I find tending indoor plants helpful, along with ridiculously bright, portable LED work lamps to add a greater sense of daylight to my home office, and walking around. The only problem is that I. Do. Not. Want. To. Leave. My. Apartment. I just don't, this time of year. Until I figure out how to make myself move outdoors, I use a thrift store exercise bike or treadmill in front of the TV. In theory I will be teaching myself how to crochet during this dark time. I also increase my anti-depression meds during this period (with the support of my psychiatrist) and then drop down again when spring gets here. That's all I've got. Good luck to all in riding out this gloomy time of year.

Expand full comment

Dark and dreary Vancouver Island. I hit the local swimming pool. It’s bright and swimming somehow makes me happy when I’m in the pool and when I get out. Getting there in the dark and rain is the challenge. Coastal winter is the worst!

Expand full comment

Welcome to the PNW! 🙀

I recommend Vitamin D and look up Luminette light therapy glasses 👓 They help me tremendously in the Winter months. Also, twinkle lights indoors, candles, slippers and nice teas

Expand full comment

It sucks and probably not the healthiest coping mechanism but I take advantage of happy hour often. I’m someone who thrives on time in the sun and feeling the sun on my skin. So this increased darkness is just rough.

Expand full comment

Indian food always helps, especially saag paneer and garlic naan and so does Pho. I try to lean into the warm wet food. Ethiopian combo platter forever wins too

Expand full comment

I'm originally from New England and while they do have great autumns, it doesn't make up for the months you have to spend chipping your car out of the ice every morning in the bitter cold. I actually prefer the dark and the rain here in the PNW. for me, getting outside every day really helps. that, and making lots of buttermilk cornbread to go with all the cozy meals.

Expand full comment

I hate it too. I’m from Puerto Rico living in Minnesota. Sunny is my love language and today it was so dark so early. Ugh. Blah. I picked up my son from preschool at the same time as always but to him it was nighttime so he thought I was late to picking him up. It broke my heart. I agree that we do need shorter work/school time during these months.

Expand full comment

I live just up the coast from Vancouver, and suddenly the skies are just grey, grey, grey... not so much of the pretty colours like back east, winters are just wet and monotonous. My frirnd who is an acupuncturist is trying to go against the grain, and close her clinic by 3 pm when she can. It's hard to give all your daylight to your job! I try to embrace all the cozy stuff as best I can - I tend read lighter fare novels, cook and bake a lot, watch romantic comedies - just try to keep home life easy and light as possible. Winter is draining - we should be hibernating!

Expand full comment

For some reason I’m not hating it as much this year (at least not yet), but the time switch really threw me. I did not remember it was happening Saturday night, so I didn’t change my clocks! I woke up to total confusion. I have been surprised every day since when it starts getting dark. The time change seems outlandish this year!

Expand full comment

I'm taking in the leaves turning during the daytime. I'm fortunate to live in an area of Brooklyn that's quite scenic. Other than that, the increasing darkness sucks ass.

Expand full comment

I feel the same , over here in West Seattle.

Expand full comment

I'm just down in Portland, so very similar weather to Seattle. I'm trying to enjoy sunrises when I can. Today it was a gorgeous one and I took my dog for a quick walk. I'm lighting candles and have soft lighting throughout my house, twinkle lights are oddly helpfup.

Expand full comment

I am hungry. I had two snacks today. Usually my magic happy lamp and oatmilk latte are enough. I hope to do an indoor walk rather than sulk on my ergonomic chair. I would like a nap but I'm paranoid I'll make my sleep schedule even worse.

Expand full comment

Central Virginia is having its cold snap as we speak.

While I lament the loss of sunny time in the hammock reading comics, our massive tree out front has now shed all of its foliage, making our front room the place to lounge, along with the sunbathing cats.

On days of grey I simply plug in my S.A.D lamp for a little blue light delight.

Expand full comment

I haven’t been successful yet, but trying to get some habits going: SAD lamp, lunchtime walk, vitamin D + calcium supplements

Expand full comment

The time change is always hard. But Fall in the midwest isn't usually too bad, more rain and gray days, but then the sun comes out and the trees show us how to let go in such a brillant way. I look forward to making soups, and bread. I put up twinkle lights for the holidays and don't take them down. End of January and February are harder for me.

Expand full comment

I live right near Seattle too and just realized that I've been depressed. Our summer was so miserable with the heat and the light rail construction right next door and then the smoke hit for weeks before the dark came. My new goal is to get outside and to meet with friends for walks to combat the sad. I went for the first one today and it was incredibly helpful. I suppose the blast of cold sunshine has helped too.

Expand full comment

I live in Alberta. I cut through piles of snow pushing my daughter to kindergarten in a wagon every morning. I have learned to be one with the snow, frost and cold. Layered up in warm clothing I enjoy the crunch crunch sound of my feet as I walk up snowy side walks. I wave to my neighbor on ice cold mornings and they wave back. I say thank you to the people I see shoveling snow from their sidewalks and when I come upon a sidewalk with heaps of snow, I throw an accusing stare at the house and curse inwardly. Some mornings I see the sun rising and spraying the top of evergreens with beautiful golden rays. Last night a poor old pigeon flew to my balcony and starred into my living room through a glass door. Then it flew straight at the glass and fell. It was trying to get in, to keep warm I think. I wanted to let it in, then I stopped. I didn't want it to get startled and fly back into the cold. It lifted it wings blowing up its feathers, then it flew in a staggered way like a drunk-flight to my neighbor's balcony. A guilt remain with me. "I should have" I said to myself. I told my five-year-old about the bird and she cry and I felt worse for telling her. I promised her that the bird would return. It didn't. Then I told my neighbor and she said, "If you had let it in, it will never leave" my guilt has lifted and in its place is the question "where do birds go when it's so cold?" Then I saw a homeless man sitting outside Walmart holding a sign. It was -29 Celsius. I had no change. A sadness came upon me. Everyone should have somewhere warm to go. Somewhere. The image of the bird lifted and in its place now sits the homeless man, head tucked between his legs, a shopping cart full of his belongings standing to his right shielding him from the cold winds. In his hand was a sign that read "Homeless"

Expand full comment

I miss Spring/Summer Seattle so much. I brought out my SAD light lamp for both home and work office use. Lastly I joined a gym which has brought a lot of great serotonin back into my life to help combat these rainy Seattle days.

Expand full comment

We go east across the Cascades! Mostly sunshine but not warm. You could go to Lake Chelan or the Method valley. Beautiful!

Expand full comment

I hear you! I put some of those fake candles in my fireplace and set the timer so they come on at 4:30 and turn off at 10:30. It is nice to have the cozy light and when they turn off at 10:30, it feels like bedtime, which provides some good structure. I also focus on getting to the solstice because every day after that is a little longer.

I like so many of the other ideas people have shared, too. In the same vein as State Park Saturdays, I might try Seattle Walks Saturdays - just get out and enjoy the neighborhoods with David Williams' Seattle Walks book.

Expand full comment

I agree with shorter workdays in winter. I'm one of those weird people that loves this season the most. I love the dark, cozy, gloomy weather. I can handle spring and winter, but fall is my favorite, summer my least favorite.

Expand full comment

It was so quick to turn from tooooooo hot, to suddenly cold. But when the sun is out, even though it's cold, it's beautiful. Hibernation sounds good, but as someone noted in here, it's also a good time to pick something to learn over the cold and darker months. With so many remote learning options, I think I'll try that, along with more sleeping!

Expand full comment